google-site-verification: googled535d9ab9eb61d8b.html

Great Gonerby (always pronounced gun,” never gone”) was one of three villages containing Gonerby” in their names; Little Gonerby was in the North Parade area of  town and Middle Gonerby we now know as Gonerby Hill Foot, both of which became part of Grantham following the Grantham Extension Act of 1879. The two Black and White posts, installed in 1879 and still evident on the banks of Gonerby Hill, indicate the village boundary.

 The village, as the ”by” ending indicates, is of Viking origin and the name is believed to originate from a Viking tribal chief, Gunvar, who had an encampment here. Consequently, the village has always had a ”u” in its name until the Georgian era, being known as Gunwarby, Gunfordebi and Gunnerbi prior to Gonerby.

Great Gonerby occupied a very important strategic position through the centuries, situated as it was on the most important thoroughfare in the country, the Great North Road - necessitating all coaches travelling from London to York and beyond having to pass through. This was one of the reasons for having three fine inns in the village to cater for travellers’ needs. The Rutland Arms was situated next to the playing field and is now a private house; The White Swan, demolished in the 1970s, was on the other side of Marratts Lane from the remaining pub and restaurant, The Recruiting Sergeant. These were rarely known by their proper names by the locals, but always the Bottom, Middle and Top”. The Recruiting Sergeant is one of only two pubs of that name in the country – the other being in Horstead, Norfolk.

The two hills upon which Great Gonerby sits were the steepest hills on the Great North Road. The hills were cut to make them longer but less steep at the time of the Turnpike Acts of the 1820s, allegedly done by Napoleonic Prisoners of War. These hills proved a stern test for horse drawn coaches which gave rise to highwaymen becoming notorious in the village - this explains why we had our very own gibbet situated on Gonerby Hill in an attempt to deter them. There was also once a notice in the White Hart Inn in Newark advising travellers to stay the night should they be unable to traverse the Gunnerbi hills by nightfall!

We have a proud history of religion here with a fine church, parts of which date to the late 12th century and is one of only two dedications to St. Sebastian in the country; the other is in Wokingham. The much loved and used clock was installed to replace an existing one in 1897 to commemorate Queen Victorias Diamond Jubilee. The locals were renowned for throwing stones at it in an attempt to stop it or move it on so that they could knock off” early. Consequently bona fide Gonerby folk are known as Clock-pelters”. Great Gonerby was also a Methodist stronghold, and a team of villagers beat strong opposition to take Methodism to Grantham and Lincoln. We have a history of four chapels, only one of which remains. The earliest one is now our Post Office where John Wesley was known to regularly preach. The next time you are there, just glance at the ceiling and note the fine rose typical of a chapel of its day.